Word of welcome - thanks

Hello and thank you to everyone who is here with us today. We would like to particularly thank the speakers who agreed to be with us for this afternoon of discussions and all our partners who support the actions of the ACTUME association and without whom nothing would be possible (Asso. Zéro Violence, Asso . Mana, Preventive Medicine, AREPA,…).

A small change in our program: Ariame DELAMATER (Association Zéro Violence) could not come as planned, it is Jean-Marie BEAUCHATEAUD who replaces her, and whom we thank for making himself available at short notice.

The conference will be moderated by Mamoudou BA, Deputy Secretary General of ACTUME, to whom I give the floor.

Tuberculosis in the world

With 2 million deaths and at least 10 million new cases each year, the tuberculosis is one of the main causes of death in the world. Diagnostic tools and treatments are often obsolete and medical research insufficient.

The tuberculosis epidemic is even getting worse. Over the past 10 years, the number of new cases has increased by 20%. The AIDS pandemic has played a major role in this, since HIV-positive patients are fifty times more likely to develop active tuberculosis. The other concern relates to the increase in the number of patients affected by variants of tuberculosis resistant to one or more of the drugs usually prescribed, and therefore much more difficult to treat. …after.

Eradicating this disease is everyone's job. So theAssociation Against Tuberculosis and Endemic Diseases (ACTUME) with the support ofMana association, the Preventive medecine, theZero Violence association, RADSI (Aquitaine Network for Solidarity and International Development), General Council of Seine Saint-Denis organized on June 8 and 9, 2007, days on the theme of tuberculosis. These days are first punctuated by a exposure, then a conference on tuberculosis and finally a dinner debate.

Mot de bienvenue – remerciements

Bonjour et Merci à tous ceux et celles qui sont présents avec nous aujourd’hui. Nous tenons à remercier particulièrement les intervenants qui ont accepté d’être avec nous pour cet après-midi d’échanges et tous nos partenaires qui soutiennent les actions de l’association ACTUME et sans qui rien ne serait possible (Asso. Zéro Violence, Asso. Mana, Médecine Préventive, AREPA,…).

Un petit changement dans notre programme : Ariame DELAMATER (Association Zéro Violence) n’a pu venir comme prévu, c’est Jean-Marie BEAUCHATEAUD qui la remplace, et que nous remercions de s’être rendu disponible au pied levé.

La conférence va être animée par Mamoudou BA, secrétaire général adjoint de l’ACTUME, à qui je laisse la parole.

Tuberculose dans le monde

Avec 2 millions de décès et au moins 10 millions de nouveaux cas chaque année, la tuberculose est l’une des principales causes de mortalité dans le monde. Les outils diagnostiques et les traitements sont souvent obsolètes, la recherche médicale insuffisante.

L’épidémie de tuberculose va même en s’aggravant. Au cours des 10 dernières années, le nombre de nouveaux cas a augmenté de 20%. La pandémie de sida y a fortement contribué, puisque les patients séropositifs ont cinquante fois plus de chances de développer une tuberculose active. L’autre inquiétude porte sur l’accroissement du nombre de malades atteints par des variantes de la tuberculose résistantes à un ou plusieurs des médicaments habituellement prescrits, et donc bien plus difficiles à soigner. …suite.

Eradiquer cette maladie est le travail de tout un chacun. Ainsi l’Association Contre la Tuberculose et les Maladies Endémiques (ACTUME) avec l’appui de l’association Mana, la Médecine Préventive, l’association Zéro Violence, RADSI (Réseau aquitain pour le développement solidaire et international), Conseil Général de Seine Saint-Denis organise le 8 et 9 juin 2007 des journées sur le thème de la tuberculose. Ces journées sont ponctuées d’abord par une exposition, ensuite une conférence sur la tuberculose et enfin un dîner débat.