Press release: Tékane on July 3, 2020

With the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, all countries are working to strengthen their health systems and structures. In Mauritania, the Municipality of Tékane is not left out in this permanent quest to provide the populations with top quality health care. It is within this framework that the Association Against Tuberculosis and Endemic Diseases (ACTUME) obtained funding from a Swiss Foundation for the construction and equipment of a Health Center in Tékane.

Worth a total of 387,537 euros (approximately 15.2 million MRU), this funding will allow the construction of a modern health center, its equipment with medical equipment and the purchase of a medical ambulance.

Due to the deficit in terms of health structure within the municipality of Tékane in Mauritania, ACTUME has been carrying out, for more than ten years, actions to compensate for this lack. These actions consisted, initially, in monitoring of tuberculosis patients, then followed of health caravans ", says Oumar Kane, President of the ACTUME Association.

The association soon realized that annual caravans had their limits. It was therefore urgent to find a solution that would allow more regular medical consultations for the inhabitants of the municipality. This is why a local association, Association Santé Tékane, made up of experienced professionals (72) was created in order to act as a relay and thus contribute to improving the care of patients monitored in relation to the staff of the center. and health posts.

There was also the problem of drugs. To remedy this, ACTUME has embarked on a project to build a community pharmacy. It then remained to resolve the question relating to the construction of a quality health center in Tékane meeting national standards. The lack of an appropriate medical structure complicated the work of nursing staff and made it very difficult for the populations of the municipality to access adequate care.

The funding agreement was signed between the Swiss Foundation and the Association Against Tuberculosis and Endemic Diseases (ACTUME) acting under the mandate of the Association Santé Tékane (AST).

This project, which will start shortly, will further strengthen the collaboration of these two complementary associations and in privileged partnership, with the Ministry of Health, local authorities, decentralized services and communities. Pooling the contributions of these different actors will promote a united development of the municipality of Tékane.

To find out more about the actions of the ACTUME association, see: www.actume.org  

Download the press release: Tékane has its Health Center

Press coverage:

Communiqué de presse :  Tékane le 3 juillet 2020

Avec la pandémie COVID-19 en cours, tous les pays s’attèlent à renforcer leurs systèmes et structures de santé. En Mauritanie, la Commune de Tékane n’est pas en reste dans cette quête permanente de fournir aux populations des soins de santé de première qualité. C’est dans ce cadre que l’Association Contre la Tuberculose et les Maladies Endémiques (ACTUME) a obtenu un financement d’une Fondation Suisse pour la construction et l’équipement d’un Centre de Santé à Tékane.

D’un montant total de 387 537 euros (soit environ 16,3 millions MRU), ce financement permettra la construction d’un centre de santé moderne, son équipement en matériel médical et l’achat d’une ambulance médicalisée.

« Du fait du déficit en matière de structure de santé au sein de la commune de Tékane en Mauritanie, ACTUME mène, depuis plus de dix ans, des actions en vue de pallier ce manque. Ces actions ont consisté, dans un premier temps, dans le suivi des tuberculeux, puis s’en est suivi des caravanes de santé », indique Oumar Kane, Président de l’Association ACTUME.

L’association s’est vite rendu compte que des caravanes annuelles avaient leurs limites. Il était donc urgent de trouver une solution qui permette des consultations médicales plus régulières à destination des habitants de la commune. C’est pourquoi, une association locale, Association Santé Tékane, composée de professionnels (72) chevronnés a été créée en vue d’assurer le relais et de contribuer ainsi à améliorer la prise en charge des malades suivis en relation avec le personnel du centre et des postes de santé.

Il s’est aussi posé le problème des médicaments. Pour y remédier, ACTUME s’est lancée dans un projet de construction d’une pharmacie communautaire. Il restait alors à solutionner la question relative à l’édification d’un centre de santé de qualité à Tékane répondant aux normes nationales. L’absence d’une structure médicale appropriée compliquait le travail du personnel soignant et rendait très difficile l’accès des populations de la commune à des soins adéquats.

L’accord de financement a été signé entre la Fondation Suisse et l’Association Contre la Tuberculose et les Maladies Endémiques (ACTUME) agissant sous le mandat de l’Association Santé Tékane (AST).

Ce projet qui démarrera sous peu, va encore plus, renforcer la collaboration de ces deux associations complémentaires et au partenariat privilégié, avec le Ministère de la santé, les autorités locales, les services déconcentrés et les communautés. La mise en commun des apports de ces différents acteurs favorisera un développement solidaire de la commune de Tékane.

En savoir plus sur les actions de l’association ACTUME, consultez : www.actume.org  

Téléchargez le communiqué : Tékane a son Centre de Santé

Retombées de presse :