Rapport d’activité 2020

2020 activity report

Our 2020 activity report is online! This year, for the first time, it is available in two formats:

  • a pdf format the full report, which can be viewed online or downloaded;
  • a digital version highlights, key figures and achievements, our partners, etc.

2020 was an exceptional year due to the context of the pandemic. Despite this difficult situation, the ACTUME association was able to carry out important actions.

We take this opportunity to warmly thank all the natural and legal persons who have contributed to the various actions carried out. (more…)

Soutenance de thèse de doctorat unique : Ousmane Sy obtient une mention très honorable

Single doctoral thesis defense: Ousmane Sy obtains a very honorable mention

At the faculty of medicine (department of pharmacy) of the Cheikh Anta Diop University in Dakar, Ousmane Sy defended, this Thursday, January 28, 2021, his unique doctoral thesis on superficial mycoses in Mauritania. The theme of this thesis was: establishment of a mycological diagnostic laboratory and epidemiological study of superficial mycoses in Mauritania. Dr Ousmane Sy obtained the very honorable mention with the congratulations of the jury.

For this thesis, the work of the applicant was focused on the establishment of a mycological diagnostic unit and the epidemiological study of mucocutaneous mycoses in Mauritania. Dr Sy has done a remarkable job on medical mycology which has been his passion since the beginning of the internship. This thesis was the opportunity for him to work on superficial fungal infections in Mauritania.

This work has been the subject of three articles published in major international journals and a fourth in publication. This allows Mauritania to have its first row epidemiological data on scalp ringworms in schools; onychomycosis and vulvovaginal candidiasis. The thesis was supervised by the eminent Professor of parasitology at the University Cheikh Anta Diop in Dakar and the American University of Harvard, Pr Daouda Ndiaye. It is a work of four years (2015-2019) which has been crowned with success.

After setting up a mycological diagnostic unit in the laboratory of the Mother and Child Hospital of Nouakchott, Dr Sy carried out three epidemiological surveys during a period of 3 years from January 2015 to November 2018. They related to scalp ringworms (TBI) in schools, onychomycosis and vulvovaginal candidiasis (CVV).

In his unique thesis, Dr Sy reports that '' fungal infections are frequent in Mauritania. They are dominated by yeasts of the genus Candida, followed by dermatophytes and then molds. The laboratory remains an essential tool for the diagnosis and management of fungal infections but it is almost absent in medical custom in Mauritania. '' Sy Ousmane has a doctorate in pharmacy option biology obtained in 2011 with very honorable mention. He had passed the Dakar hospital internship competition in pharmacy in 2008. Moreover, he is the first Mauritanian and the only one to have succeeded in pharmacy to obtain his title of former resident of Dakar hospitals. in 2013.

Pharmacist biologist, Dr Ousmane Sy has been responsible for teaching parasitology at the National School of Public Health since 2015. He supervised 7 research master's theses in molecular biology from the science faculty of the University of Nouakchott Al Asrya since 2016 (6 have defended and one is pending).

Source: Calame (28/01/2021)

Rapport d’activité 2020

Rapport d’activité 2020

Notre rapport d’activité 2020 est en ligne ! Cette année, pour la première fois, il est disponible en deux formats :

  • un Format pdf du rapport intégral, à consulter en ligne ou à télécharger ;
  • une version numérique des temps forts, les chiffres et réalisations clés, nos partenaires, etc.

2020 fut une année exceptionnelle en raison du contexte de pandémie. Malgré cette situation difficile, l’association ACTUME a pu réaliser des actions importantes.

Nous profitons de l’occasion pour remercier vivement toutes les personnes physiques et morales qui ont contribué aux différentes actions menées. (suite…)

Soutenance de thèse de doctorat unique : Ousmane Sy obtient une mention très honorable

Soutenance de thèse de doctorat unique : Ousmane Sy obtient une mention très honorable

A la faculté de médecine (département de pharmacie) de  l’Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar, Ousmane Sy  a soutenu, ce jeudi 28 janvier  2021, sa thèse unique de doctorat sur les mycoses superficielles en Mauritanie. Cette thèse avait pour thème : mise en place d’un laboratoire de diagnostic mycologique et étude épidémiologique des mycoses superficielles en Mauritanie.  Dr Ousmane Sy a obtenu la mention très honorable avec les félicitations du jury.

Pour cette thèse, le travail de l’impétrant a été axé sur la mise en place d’une unité de diagnostic mycologique et l’étude épidémiologique des mycoses cutanéomuqueuses en Mauritanie. Dr Sy a effectué un travail remarquable sur la mycologie médicale qui est sa passion depuis le début de l’internat. Cette thèse a été l’occasion pour lui de travailler sur les mycoses superficielles en Mauritanie.

Ce travail a fait l’objet de trois articles publiés dans de grandes revues internationales et un quatrième en cours de publication. Ce qui permet à la Mauritanie de disposer de ses premières données épidémiologiques de rang sur les teignes du cuir chevelu en milieu scolaire ; les onychomycoses et sur la candidose vulvovaginale. La thèse a été encadrée par l’éminent Professeur de parasitologie de l’Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar et de l’Université Américaine de Harvard, le Pr Daouda Ndiaye. C’est un travail de quatre ans (2015-2019) qui a été couronné de succès.

Après la mise en place d’une unité de diagnostic mycologique au niveau du laboratoire du Centre Hospitalier Mère et Enfant de Nouakchott, Dr Sy a effectué trois enquêtes épidémiologiques durant une période de 3 ans allant de janvier 2015 à Novembre 2018. Elles portaient sur les teignes du cuir chevelu (TCC) en milieu scolaire, les onychomycoses et la candidose vulvovaginale (CVV).

Dans sa thèse unique, Dr Sy signale que ‘’les infections fongiques sont fréquentes en Mauritanie. Elles sont dominées par celles à levures du genre Candida, suivie par les dermatophytes puis des moisissures. Le laboratoire reste un outil incontournable pour le diagnostic et la prise en charge des infections fongiques mais il est presque absent dans la coutume médicale en Mauritanie’’. Sy Ousmane dispose d’un doctorat en pharmacie option biologie obtenu en 2011 avec mention très honorable. Il avait réussi le concours d’internat des hôpitaux de Dakar en pharmacie en 2008. D’ailleurs, il est le premier mauritanien et seul à ce jour à l’avoir réussi en pharmacie pour obtenir son titre d’ancien interne des hôpitaux de Dakar en 2013.

Pharmacien biologiste, Dr Ousmane Sy est responsable de l’enseignement de parasitologie à l’école nationale supérieure de santé publique depuis 2015. Il a encadré 7 mémoires master de recherche en biologie moléculaire de la faculté de sciences de l’université de Nouakchott Al Asrya depuis 2016 (6 ont soutenu  et un est en instance de soutenance).

Source : Le Calame (28/01/2021)